2019 NFRN Awards


The NFRN (Federation of Independent Retailers) was founded in 1919 by independent retail newsagents to represent their interest; it now represents over 15,000 retailer members providing a comprehensive range of services and benefits. To celebrate its centenary year, the 16th annual awards ceremony needed to be a lavish affair to suit the prestigiousness of the occasion.

2019 NFRN Awards



The drinks reception was opened with an acoustic set from Ember, a British string Trio, who also provided a high energy electric show after dinner to kick start the awards. The 400 attendees were welcomed by the Mike Mitchelson – NFRN National President – to start the centenary celebrations.  As one of the most revered and popular news broadcasters of our time,Sir Trevor McDonald was the perfect host for this event.

The evening was a glorious celebration honouring the very best from within the industry for their hard work, innovation and determination and awarding those who had made an exceptional contribution to independent retailing – overall 12 award categories were recognised, including three special centenary awards: Longest Serving Active Member Awards, Outstanding Contribution to the News Industry, and Outstanding Contribution to Independent Retailing.